BASELIUS COLLEGE KOTTAYAM



LAURELS' DAY CELEBRATIONS (2022-23)

Our college celebrates Laurels' Day every year to honour and congratulate our students for their performance and achievements in academic as well as non- academic areas such as arts, sports, NSS, NCC and the like. This year (2022-23), the Laurels' Day Celebration was held on 17th March 2023 at our college Auditorium (Mar Dionysius Hall). The function started at 11.00a.m. with a prayer song by Ms. K. Navya Krishnan of Second year B.Sc. Mathematics. Dr. Ambika D., Convener of the Programme, welcomed the gathering. Dr. Biju Thomas, Principal of the College, presided over the meeting. Adv. Reji Zachariah, Hon. Syndicate Member, M.G. University was the chief guest of the programme. The Principal and the chief guest, congratulated the achievers and illuminated the young minds with their motivational messages. The scholarships and endowments were distributed to the winners. It consisted of cash prize, a gold medal and a certificate of achievement. Around Rs. 1.4 lakhs was distributed as the prize money. Mr. Anuroopkumar P. K., P.T.A. Vice – President facilitated the function. Ms. Arathy Shaji (the best outgoing girl among UG), student of final year BA Economics (2020-23) gave a reply speech thanking all the facility and appreciation the college had rendered to its students. Dr. Vidya Merlin Varghese (member of organizing committee) gave the vote of thanks. The meeting had come to an end by 1.00 pm with National Anthem. Mr. Nibu B. Thomas and Dr. Thara Thomas were the comperes of the programme.

Let me place on records, my sincere thanks to the staffs and students of our college, for their timely suggestions and support rendered to me at the hour of need.

Also let me present a suggestion related to this function. It is a fact that some of the endowments have very low prize money. It would be better if respective departments would take an initiative to increase the endowment money to a reasonable value.

New Scholarships Instituted

1. Alumini Endowment instituted by Alumini (2019 -22 batch Botany) of department for the Best Outgoing student of B.Sc Botany Programme of the final year.

Organizing committee members: Prof. Dr. Jyothomol P. (Vice Principal), Dr. Joy Markose (Bursar), Ms. Jeejamol P.M., Sri Anuroopkumar P.K., Dr. Anit M Thomas, Dr. Krishnaraj M.V. Ms. Meera Elizabeth James and Dr. Vidya Merlin Varghese.

Ambika D.
Convener, Laurels' Day (2022-23)