Ph. No. 0481-2566162

E-mail ID:

The department of Physics has geared up to take on activities of this academic year with an A grade secured by the Baselius college by way of NAAC reaccreditation (3rd cycle). The department is happy to place on record its achievements and attainments of the yester years. The department had its humble beginnings in the fledgling days of the college under the able stewardship of Prof. C.K. Kuriakose. In those far off days, Physics was taught for pre-degree and subsidiary classes. During the tenure of Prof. K.T. Joy, this department could set its mark in the academic arena by the introduction of undergraduate program in 1995 and postgraduate program in 1998. Ever since then, this department has scaled greater heights with the concerted efforts of our retired eminent faculty members- Prof. K.V Kuriakose, Prof. P. U Thomas, Prof. T. C. Thomas ( Also acted as the chairman of the National Service Scheme of the Mahatma Gandhi University), Dr. Varghese John, Prof V. John, Prof V. V. Mathew, Prof K. Mathew (also the member of the syndicate in Mahatma Gandhi University), Late Prof. Susan John K, Prof Elizabeth Varghis, Dr. V. M Mathew and Dr. Nirmala Joseph.

At present this department has a strength of 9 faculty members and one faculty member for electronics, 3 laboratory staff, a mechanic along with 85 students in the B.Sc program and 24 students in the M.Sc. programme respectively. In the last 5 years, the faculty members of this department have contributed over 20 research papers in both International/ national journals of repute and in International/ national conference proceedings. Apart from teaching physics courses and guiding students in their projects, teachers actively engage in regular seminars, discussion forums and popular talks. Regular visits of experts and scholars from the Academia and industry for technical and popular talks add to the vibrant academic culture of sharing and collaboration. The present faculty is also very active in extension programmes in reaching out to the public and high school students through street plays, exhibitions and demonstration-teaching programmes. The department takes pride in projecting Dr. Nibu A George, recipient of Young scientist award for the year 2012-13 instituted by Marthoma Syrian church of Malabar, also a holder of an international patent for light source comprising a light emitter arranged inside a translucent outer envelope, and also Dr. Anisha Mary Mathew again a patent holder for conducting polymers. The department of Physics takes pride in projecting its academic performance by achieving twice 100% first class for B.Sc programme and also for having the highest GPA in Mahatma Gandhi University in 2012-13.

To boost the quality of education, the young Physics department has organized a 2-day UGC sponsored National seminar on Microprocessors in 2001, 2-day KSCSTE sponsored State level workshop on Recent Trends in Physics in 2004, 6-day State level workshop on Information Technology in 2006 and 2-day UGC sponsored National workshop on Mesmerisms in Optoelectronics in 2011. Apart from these, every year the department organizes Prof. C.K Kuriakose memorial lecture series in current Physics as a memorial to the founder HOD, All Kerala Intercollegiate Physics quiz competition in memory of Late Prof. Susan John K and also All Kerala Power point presentation. 2015 year has been declared as the International year of light, and the department of Physics is planning to organize an All Kerala seminar on the phenomenon of Light along with an exhibition, with the sponsorship of the Academy of Physics Teachers (APT). A department library with over 2000 books on Physics and related topics, a well equipped electronics lab and a computer lab with internet facility that substantially enhances the academic pursuits of students and faculty.

The members of the Physics association organize Physifest as part of Alumini day and as a mark of the inception of the department -15th November 1995, where both alumini and the present students showcase their talents. The department of Physics has become a full fledged research centre.



Prof. Sindu Jones, M.Sc, M.Phil, B.Ed Assistant professor & HOD

0481-2300233, 9446819214


Prof. Linju Ann Jacob, M.Sc, NET, Assistant Professor



Dr. Nibu A. George, M.Sc, Ph.D, Assistant Professor

0481-2457784, 9446469712, 9846807712


Dr. Anisha Mary Mathew M.Sc, M.Phil, Ph.D Assistant Professor

0481-2352403, 9447304071


Prof. Misha Hari, M.Sc, M.Phil, NET,  Assistant Professor

0466-2227589, 9746615288


Dr. Ambika D, M.Sc, M.Phil, Ph.D Assistant Professor



Prof. Neha P. R. M.Sc, NET, Assistant Professor

0481-2488271, 9400588271


Aswathy R Chandran MSc, Guest Lecturer




Guides in the Research Centre

            Dr. V.M. Mathew (Retd.)




Retired Teachers

Contact Number


Prof. C.K. Kuriakose(Late)

0481-2430438, 9447145064


Prof. K.V Kuriakose

0484-2653215, 8547153251


Prof. K.T Joy

0485-2253273, 9747644936


Prof. P.U. Thomas

0481-2537833, 9495874569


Prof. V. John

0481-2573252, 8547219252


Prof. T. C. Thomas

0481-2542747, 9447946507


Dr. Varghese John

0481-2561826, 9446377826


Prof. V. V. Mathew

0469-2700563, 9447598458


Prof. K. Mathew

0481-2352947, 9447039451


Prof. Elizabeth Varghis



Dr. V.M. Mathew

0469-2606866, 9447104067


Prof. Susan John K (Late)



Dr. Nirmala Joseph