The Department of Malayalam commenced functioning under the leadership of Prof. K.C. Mani in 1964 and was upgraded with the B.A. Course in 1982. The Department maintains the prestige of securing 100% results consecutively all through these years. A team of dedicated and dynamic teachers constitute the faculty. The department has an active Alumni Association which supports and encourages all its activities. A well-equipped library with 3000 books enriches the academic pursuits. From the time of its inception, efforts were taken to promote traditional art forms like Kathakali; Koodiyattam and Koothu by staging them every year in the College.

The Malayalam Association has been selected as the Best Association of the College for several years. The department pays homage to Prof. K.C. Mani and Prof. C.J. Mannumoodu who founded and nurtured it. The department remembers with gratitude the services rendered by Prof. Vettinadu Sreedharan Nair, Rev. Prof. P.V.John and Prof. T.T. Kuriakose. The department humbly acknowledges with gratitude and pride the valuable services of our former HOD Prof. Mary Mathew who retired in 2010 and Dr. A.M. Unnikrishnan who in now serving in the University of Kerala. The Alumni of the department includes teachers in Schools, Colleges and Universities, Journalists, poets, writers and acclaimed artists.


FACULTY MEMBERS - Dept. Phone:0481-22565025, E-mail:


Dr. Sherly Kurian, M.A., Ph.D, Asso. Prof., & HOD

0481 - 2432988


Dr. Shyla Abraham, M.A., M.Phil, Ph.D., Asso. Prof.



Sri. Thomas Kuruvilla, M.A. ., Assi.Prof.



Dr. Selvy Xavier, M.A., Ph.D, Asst.Prof.